CSWN

Tonnagemen's

Illinois Solid Waste News

Second Quarter 2020

Volume 27 Issue 2

ILCSWMA BOARD

PRESIDENT

Kerri Gale **Jackson County** 618-684-3143, ext. 130 president@ilcswma.org

VICE PRESIDENT

Pete Adrian Solid Waste Agency of **Lake County** 847-377-4952 vp@ilcswma.org

SECRETARY

Jennifer Jarland **Kane County** 630-208-3841 jarlandjennifer@co.kane.il.us

TREASURER

Becky Tracy Perry County 618-357-3267 bckytracy@yahoo.com

NORTHERN REGION REPRESENTATIVE

Paul Cooney Ogle County 815-732-4020, ext. 365 pcooney@oglecounty.org

CENTRAL REGION REPRESENTATIVE

Evelyn Neavear Tazewell County 309-929-0250 eneavear@tchd.net

SOUTHERN REGION REPRESENTATIVE

Andi Campbell Yancey, AICP **Madison County** 618-296-4616 anyancey@co.madison.il.us

AT-LARGE

Melissa Goetze **Tazewell County** 309-929-0286 mgoetze@tchd.net

AT-LARGE

Doug Toole Vermilion County 217-431-2662, ext. 243



PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE

Most ILCSWMA members know Chad Braatz, the veteran recycling coordinator who has championed our cause for over 30 years in western Illinois. For many years he worked for the Tri-County Resource & Waste Management Council, developing innovative programs, doing the grunt work to waste. implement programs and events, and sharing his endless knowledge been a with his peers. For the last few years, Chad worked for the City of Monmouth as their Sustainability Coordinator.

Unfortunately, Chad's position was eliminated by the City on April 30. This development got lost amongst all that has happened in the world during this pandemic. But Chad's worth to his colleagues cannot, and will not, be diminished by the loss of his position or a global pandemic.

Beyond serving residents in the communities he has covered, Chad has served on the ILCSWMA Board of Directors since 1994, an amazing 26 years! That's over twice as long as any other Board member. During the past three decades Chad has been a tireless advocate for recycling programs in rural Illinois and has been the goto guy in west central Illinois for all things related to solid He has great



ambassador for ILCSWMA, having represented the association on statewide groups such as the Task Force on the Advancement of Materials Recycling and IEPA's Transfer Station Task Force. He has held dozens of regional meetings, spoken at numerous annual conferences, shared his work with countless peers. Chad received the ILCSWMA Annual Distinguished Service Award in 2003.

Since Chad is no longer employed by an ILCSWMA full member organization, unfortunately he is no longer eligible to serve on the Board of Directors. The ILCSWMA Board has appointed Evelyn **Neavear from Tazewell County**

Continued on Page 2

ASSOCIATION NEWS

President's Message—cont. from Page 1

Health Department to fill the remainder of Chad's term. Evelyn had been serving as an At-Large member of the Board. To till the At-Large spot that Evelyn vacated, the Board selected Melissa Goetze from Tazewell County. Welcome aboard to Melissa!

The ILCSWMA Board is certainly sad to lose Chad as a Board member, to say the least. To show how much he is respected and adored, the Board voted to 1) award Chad the Lifetime Achievement Award and 2) to rename the award the Charles "Chad" Braatz Lifetime Achievement Award. This action seemed fitting of the man who has accomplished so much during his career, and set a standard which other's will find difficult to achieve.

The Board hopes to present this award to Chad in person, whenever conditions allow. Until we meet again, dear friend!

Kerri Gale, President



Chad & His Admirers - 2015

2020 ANNUAL CONFERENCE

The Board has decided to cancel this year's Annual Conference, which was scheduled for Oct. 29 & 30 at Starved Rock Lodge. We will hold the 2021 Annual Conference at Starved Rock Lodge on October 21-22, 2021.

We are working on putting together a possible virtual conference, along with smaller regional meetings, instead of the in-person conference this year. Please stay tuned; details to follow in the next couple months!

Stay safe and well!

2020 BOARD ELECTION

This year the Regional Representatives to the ILCSWMA Board of Directors are up for election. These positions are elected to two-year terms. The counties included in each region can be found here.

Currently these spots are held by Paul Cooney, Northern Region; Evelyn Neavear, Central Region; and Andi Yancey, Southern Region. All three incumbents will be listed on the ballot. Voting will be done electronically in September by the designated contact person at each full member organization.

Any employee of a full member organization who would like to be listed on the ballot for consideration should send an email indicating such to Jennifer Jarland, ILCSWMA Secretary, no later than August 14. (See page 1 for email address)